Lesson 23: The footmen, the horses or neither?

running horses, galloping, horses hooves, stampedeHave you ever heard of or read this scripture:  If you have run with the footmen, and they have wearied you, then how can you contend with horses? And if in the land of peace, wherein you trusted, they wearied you, then how will you do in the swelling of Jordan? Jeremiah 12 verse 5 and 6

Robin has had this verse on his heart for at least the last 3 years and has quoted it to me over and over again. I would listen and read it but it never really sank in until a few weeks ago. Robin had commented on one of my posts and it was like I was seeing this scripture for the first time. So many things suddenly made sense to me and then current state of mind sent off some large alarm bells for me.

 I was at that stage feeling like the used sweat pants of a former boy band member and was struggling to keep my heart singing to the tunes of “The hills are alive with the sound of music” and I was dangerously heading towards the hard metal edge of Alice Cooper and his suspect leather attired metal-edged messages. I felt weary to my bones. I felt like my spiritual skeleton was aching, hollowed out and about to snap. All the while feeling like this I was fighting to maintain my faith. Fighting to maintain the vision that it will all come through, that our breakthrough was imminent. Still trying to encourage Robin despite my brains’ desire to succumb to the indulgent negative, toffeed thoughts of doom.

depressed, stressed, no hopeIt is so crappy being in a space like that, wondering if it will ever get better or if this is your fate, to just be another ordinary, unexceptional human being…struggling against the averageness or ‘less-than’, that fires its’ constant arrows in your direction.

It was on our 10km walk in the morning (that Robin will not take no for an answer for and almost marches my lily white legs out the door on) that I got it. I mean I really got it

If I was being wearied by this season how on earth could I hope to move on to the next?

If I have run with the footmen and they have wearied me how could I possibly hope to see and experience the run with the horses? It was time to toughen up – it was time to suck up my sorry-for-myself attitude and it was time to stop speaking weariness over my life.

Yes, we do get weary, we get tired and we feel weak – but these are the exact moments that we need to choose to run to God, to fall into the security of His peace. He will never force you there – it is your choice: firstly through your words – by speaking life and victory and secondly by trusting His process with you. I stopped right then and there speaking of my weariness and begging God to speed things up for me and instead I started saying, “God give me strength for this time, to keep up and even surpass these footmen. Give me the stamina I need in my spirit to keep running with joy and peace in every step so that I can run with the horses.”light bulb moment, aha, revelatation

You see, I want to be fit – fit enough to move from this space. Equipped to pass through this season and accredited to run with those horses. which is is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Philippians 4 verse 8.

I understand why He advises us to meditate on His word day and night because our minds either spur us on to win the race or it becomes our greatest downfall. There is such power in our thinking – we choose to be weary long before our bodies respond to those thoughts but we can also choose to overcome and find the strength and will these bodies on.

The only way this is going to happen is when I start pushing my spiritual stamina and getting to a place where I am able to only speak strength and victory despite what is going on around me. To see grace and success in the times of waiting and to rest easy when things seem beyond my control. I know now why God advises us to think on only that

approved stamp, quality control, stamp

I know that I am intended to run with the horses. Living normality just doesn’t seem to be overly appealing to me.

I don’t believe any of us have been intended to just be okay, we are intended for so much more but that lies within our locus of control – in the confines of our thinking.

So, the question is, are you going to run with those horses or will you choose the treadmill instead?

Will you continue to press in believing the impossible?

Will you allow God to expand your vision and dream to a place where it is scary or will you settle for the picket fence life? (And I have to tell you that eventually the paint peels off that little fence and the grass needs weeding and it isn’t all that it first seems to be, picket fence living takes some stamina too.)

Will you give you when it gets tough and the waiting gets you down or will you choose to instead toughen up, extend those spiritual muscles and sweat it out? All of that is completely up to you – you decide – none of this  can be forced on you, it’s all in your control.

Some time ago I was thinking about where we were and where it was we were aiming to be and how hard it was to walk this road. I felt then like God gave me the choice for us to be the regular 9 -5 type people – and don’t get me wrong there is great  a journey for everyone no matter what their work hours are but this is just where I was at personally and what was meaningful to my life at the time- if I did want Robin to pursue this course, continue with the business and move into the calling we felt on our lives. I felt like at that moment if I had said I want the normal, I want the safety and security of normal, that God would have given it to us and it would have been okay. As tempting as it was, I knew it would always leave us feeling like we never quite got there and so, of course I opted for the challenges, the vision, the scary path.

A few years back I may have opted for the safe version of this story but now all I want is His promise for my life. I want to run with those horses and I can’t do it from behind a picket fence.

danger, safety zone, comfort zoneI know now is the time for all of us to take a step outside the confines of our safety zones, whatever they may be, and start running without complaint or doubt. It’s time to jump the fence of just being okay and just getting by and instead to jump onto the back of that stallion and gallop all the way to victory.

It is time…whether you work from 9 to 5 every day and whether you literally live behind a picket fence, God has put dreams and desires into each of your hearts. It is yours to action if you so choose. It is yours to take hold of if you so choose. You can do this if you choose to. What God has for us is infinitely more incredible than what we could ever plan for ourselves.

And so I leave you with the words from one of my favourite movies…

Run Forest, run!

Images:
Depressed many courtesy of Master isolated images ; Quality control stamp by Stuart Miles; Light bulb & hand by jannoon028; Danger sign by creativedoxfoto all at http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

5 comments

Share your thoughts...

